Big Ten Moving to 9-Game Conference Schedule

Big Ten Conference

PARK RIDGE, IL (WIAT) – “Legends” & “Leaders” is no more. Sunday the Big Ten Conference announced plans to do away with the unpopular names of its football divisions. Instead they are opting for the more traditional “East” & “West.” The conference also announced plans to adopt a 9-game conference schedule to begin in 2014 when the league adds Maryland and Rutgers.


  • Indiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Michigan State
  • Ohio State
  • Penn State
  • Rutgers


  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Minnesota
  • Nebraska
  • Northwestern
  • Purdue
  • Wisconsin

“Big Ten directors of athletics concluded four months of study and deliberation with unanimous approval of a future football structure that preserved rivalries and created divisions based on their primary principle of East/West geography,” said Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany.  “The directors of athletics also relied on the results of a fan survey commissioned by BTN last December to arrive at their recommendation, which is consistent with the public sentiment expressed in the poll.”

Click Here for more on the changes.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s