Blazers Townsend & Attfield Honored by C-USA

UAB Head Softball Coach Marla Townsend

BIRMINGHAM, AL (WIAT) – Conference USA released their post-season softball on Wednesday and a couple of UAB Blazers were honored. Head Coach Marla Townsend was picked as the C-USA Coach of the Year after leading the Blazers to a 36-15 record, including a 19-4 mark in conference. That earned the Blazers their first ever regular season conference title in softball.

Also honored by the league was Freshman Caitlin Attfield, who was named the league’s Freshman of the Year. Attfield became the second UAB player to garner the award, joining Lauren Webster, who won it in 2010. Caitlin batted .363 in her first season, which was good for fourth in the league.

UAB also landed two other players on the C-USA First Team All-Conference Team. Outfielder Whitney Fletcher & pitcher Lannah Campbell.

See below for a full list of C-USA Softball Awards.

2013 Conference USA All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year: Haley Outon, Houston
Pitcher of the Year: Aimee Creger, Tulsa
Freshman of the Year: Caitlin Attfield, UAB
Newcomer of the Year: Erika Arcuri, UTEP
Coach of the Year: Marla Townsend, UAB

First Team All-Conference
C          Haley Outon, Houston
IF         Holly Anderson, Houston
IF         Jill Barrett, Tulsa
IF         Samantha Cobb, Tulsa
IF         Caitlin Attfield, UAB
OF        Katie St. Pierre, Houston
OF        Kaelynn Greene, Marshall
OF        Whitney Fletcher, UAB
P          Aimee Creger, Tulsa
P          Lannah Campbell, UAB
UT        Lacey Middlebrooks, Tulsa

Second Team All-Conference
C          Anna Kimbrell, UAB
IF         Jordan Lewis, East Carolina
IF         Kristi Oshio, East Carolina
IF         Jazmine Valle, Marshall
IF         Kate Armstrong, UAB
OF        Ashley Gue, Marshall
OF        Lelani Bernardino, Memphis
OF        Haley Henshaw, Tulsa
P          Bailey Watts, Houston
P          Andi Williamson, Marshall
UT        Kristen McGrath, UAB

All-Freshman Team
Meredith Mitchell, East Carolina
Katie St. Pierre, Houston
Shaelynn Braxton, Marshall
Raquel Escareno, Marshall
Kaelynn Greene, Marshall
Hannah Harrell, Memphis
Morgan McKeever, Southern Miss
Catherine Horner, Tulsa
Caitlin Attfield, UAB
Shelby Turnier, UCF
Taylor Wagner, UCF

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s