16th Street Baptist Church bombing victims to be honored in Congress


[lin_video src=http://eplayer.clipsyndicate.com/embed/player.js?aspect_ratio=16×9&auto_next=1&auto_start=0&div_id=videoplayer-1368225365&height=480&page_count=5&pf_id=9624&show_title=1&va_id=4052831&width=640&windows=2 service=syndicaster width=640 height=480 div_id=videoplayer-1368225365 type=script]WASHINGTON, D.C. (WIAT) — The four young girls who died in the bombing of the 16th Street Baptist Church in 1963 are now just a presidential signature away from the highest civilian honor bestowed by Congress.

Addie Mae Collins, Carole Robertson, Cynthia Wesley and Denise McNair will posthumously receive the Congressional Medal of Honor.

The girls were killed when a bomb planted by white supremacists exploded at the church.

22 other people were injured when the massive explosion blew a hole through a wall in the church.

Copyright 2013 WIAT-TV CBS 42

blog comments powered by Disqus