UAB Players on Preseason Watchlist

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WIAT)—- The Lou Groza and Ray Guy preseason watchlist for kickers

came out today. The list had two local guys named to it. UAB’s kicker Ty Long was named to the Lou Groza watchlist, and punter Hunter Mullins was named to the Ray Guy award watchlist.

Long is entering his third season at UAB with 30 field goals in 36 attempts and a career percentage of 83.3 that rates No. 1 all-time for the Blazers. Last season, Long connected on 14-of-17 and booted the two longest field goals in UAB history when he hit

from 54 yards vs. Ohio State and 53 yards against Southeastern Louisiana. Long has not missed during his career from inside 40 yards, hitting all 19 previous attempts. The 22nd Annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, presented by the Orange Bowl Committee, recognizes the three finalists during

an early week celebration in Palm Beach County, culminating with a gala awards banquet on December 10th, prior to joining ESPN in Orlando.

UAB punter Hunter Mullins, excelled in his first season as UAB’s regular punter in 2012. Mullins averaged a Blazer season-record 44.8 yards per kick. He had 14 punts inside the 20-yardline and 12 that were called on fair catches. Mullins had 12 punts during

the season of 50 or more. The number of eligible candidates for this season will increase when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on October 25. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee

will meet to select the ten semi-finalists, whowill be announced on November 8. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the

top three finalists, to be announced on November 25. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during, The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 12, 2013.

These prestigious awards are given to college football’s top kickers in the nation.

Cameron Dailey contributed to this story

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s