Four Bama Players on Nagurski Watch List

University of Alabama
University of Alabama

TUSCALOOSA, Ala (WIAT) – Preseason honors are pouring in for Alabama. Today, four Crimson Tide players made the watch list for another major award.

Linebackers C.J. Mosley and Adrian Hubbard, corner back Deion Belue, and safety Ha-Ha Clinton Dix all made the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Award, which is given to the nation’s top defensive player.

Mosley racked up 107 tackles including four sacks in 2012. He was voted the 2012 Alabama MVP by his teammates.

Hubbard led the Tide last year with seven sacks and eleven tackles for loss. Clinton-Dix led Alabama with five interceptions. Belue led Alabama’s defensive backs in tackles for loss with 6.5 and had a 57 yard fumble return for a touchdown against Western Carolina.

The finalists for the Nagurski Award will be announced on November 21 and will be awarded on December 9 in Charlotte, NC. Notre Dame’s Manti Te’o won the award last year. No Alabama player has ever won the award.

Mosley, Belue, and Clinton-Dix are also on the watch list for the Bednarik Award as well. Alabama also has multiple players on the Maxwell Award watch list.

Matthew Copeland contributed to this report.

blog comments powered by Disqus