Alabama approaches one year anniversary of the texting and driving ban

[lin_video src=×9&auto_next=1&auto_start=0&div_id=videoplayer-1373861697&height=480&page_count=5&pf_id=9624&show_title=1&va_id=4140934&width=640&windows=2 service=syndicaster width=640 height=480 div_id=videoplayer-1373861697 type=script]

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WIAT)– We are approaching the one year anniversary of the ban on texting and driving in Alabama. On August 1, 2012, it became illegal to text while driving. Troopers say while speeding, DUI, and failure to wear a seatbelt continue to be the leading causes of fatalities and injuries, distracted driving is rapidly catching up as a major factor. Sargent Steve Jarrett says parents need to be sure and talk with young drivers, have a zero tolerance for breaking the rules, and set a good example yourself.

Since last August, 146 citations were written for violations. 133 of those tickets came from troopers. The fines for violators are not that steep. It’s $25  for the first offense, then $50 for and $75 for the third. However, a conviction will add two points on your driver’s license. Troopers say when citizens get tired of seeing distracted drivers causing accidents, it will be up to them to push for stronger penalties.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s