McCarron named to Davey O’Brien Award watch list

HOOVER, Ala. (WIAT) – Alabama senior quarterback A.J. McCarron was named to the Davey O’Brien Quarterback Award Watch List on Wednesday, joining a list with six other quarterbacks from the Southeastern Conference.

The award is given out annually to the top quarterback in the nation.

McCarron, who threw for 2933 yards and 30 touchdowns in 2012, returns to a Crimson Tide team that has a chance to be more potent on the offensive side of the ball than it has in years past.

Over the course of his career, McCarron has developed a reputation as a quarterback capable of making the big throws while still being one of the most efficient passers in the country.

SEC quarterbacks on the list include Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel, Georgia quarterback Aaron Murray, Missouri quarterback James Franklin,  South Carolina quarterback Connor Shaw, Mississippi State quarterback Tyler Russell and Ole Miss quarterback Bo Wallace.

The field for the award will be narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Nov. 4. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 25, and the winner will be revealed during the The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12.

Copyright 2013 WIAT-TV CBS 42

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s