Alabama Power awards grants to teachers

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WIAT) – Alabama Power is dishing out the green!

Fourteen first year teachers have received thousand dollar grants through the Alabama Power Foundation.

The money is intended for classroom materials and supplies.

Each winner graduated from a state-approved teacher program at an Alabama public four-year college or university.

The recipients are:

*       Sara Arsman, McDonnell Elementary – Athens State University

*       Annette Chambers, Oliver Elementary – Troy University

*       James (Jake) Craft, Burkette Center – University of Alabama at Birmingham

*       Kristan Etheridge, Griggs Elementary – University of South Alabama

*       Kristin Flannagan, Deshler High – University of North Alabama

*       Jake Green, Piedmont High – Jacksonville State University

*       Christopher Johnson, Davis-Emerson Middle – University of Alabama

*       Ella Johnson, Marbury High – Auburn University Montgomery

*       Shannon Lee, Clanton Elementary – University of Montevallo

*       Loryn Lemberg, Buckhorn High – University of Alabama in Huntsville

*       Nicole Mitchell, W.F. Burns Middle – Auburn University

*       Reginald Pearson, Westlawn Middle – Alabama A&M University

*       Bobby Jay Sparks, Payne Elementary – Alabama State University

*       Alvin Wiggins, Jerry Lee Faine Elementary – Troy (Dothan Campus)

You can learn more about the grant program and how to nominate someone you know by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s