Majority of legislators accept automatic raise

Alabama State Capitol
(Associated Press File Photo)

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) – A narrow majority of Alabama legislators have accepted an automatic pay increase that they were eligible to receive this spring.

Sixty-six of the state’s 104 sitting representatives accepted the raise, while 38 declined it, according to numbers provided by the clerk of the House of Representatives. Twenty-one of the 35 senators also declined the raise, according to Alabama Senate data. The other 14 senators will receive the pay increase.

Legislators get an annual raise in their monthly expense allowance to reflect any increase in the federal consumer price index. They automatically receive the raise unless they sent written notice saying they do not want to receive it.

Lawmakers’ total compensation now equals about $56,868 if they have taken the automatic pay increases.

A narrow majority of Alabama Legislators have accepted an automatic pay increase available to them this spring. Lawmakers automatically get the raise unless they returned letters earlier this month asking not to receive it.

Alabama House of Representatives

House members declining the raise

Mike Hubbard, R-Auburn

Richard Baughn, R-Lynn

Elaine Beech, D-Chatom

K.L. Brown, R-Jacksonville

Mac Buttram, R-Cullman

Steve Clouse, R-Ozark

Terri Collins, R-Decatur

Randy Davis, R-Daphne

Paul DeMarco, R-Homewood

Allen Farley, R-McCalla

Lynn Greer, R-Rogersville

Alan Harper, R-Newport

Ed Henry, R-Decatur

Steve Hurst, R-Munford

Ken Johnson, R-Moulton

Ron Johnson, R-Sylacauga

Wayne Johnson, R-Ryland

Mike Jones, R-Andalusia

Paul Lee, R-Dothan

Wes Long, R-Guntersville

Thad McClammy, D-Montgomery

Jim McClendon, R-Springville

Mac McCutcheon, R-Huntsville

John Merrill, R-Tuscaloosa

Barry Moore, R-Enterprise

Johnny Mack Morrow, D-Red Bay

Jim Patterson, R-Meridianville

Dimitri Polizos ,R-Montgomery

Bill Poole, R-Tuscaloosa

Kerry Rich, R-Albertville

Bill Roberts, R-Jasper

David Sessions, R-Grand Bay

Harry Shiver, R-Bay Minette

Mark Tuggle, R-Alexander City

Lesley Vance,R-Phenix City

Kurt Wallace, R-Maplesville

April Weaver, R-Alabaster

Dan Williams, R-Athens

House members accepting the raise

Alan Baker, R-Brewton

Mike Ball, R-Madison

George Bandy, D-Opeika

Paul Beckman, R-Prattville

Marcel Black, D-Tuscumbia

Daniel Boman, D-Sulligent

Alan Boothe, R-Troy

Barbara Boyd, D-Anniston

Napoleon Bracy, D-Prichard

Duwayne Bridges, R-Valley

Greg Burdine, D-Florence

James Buskey, D-Mobile

Mack Butler, R-Rainbow City

Jim Carns, R-Mountain Brook

Donnie Chesteen, R-Geneva

Adline Clarke, D-Mobile

Merika Coleman-Evans, D-Pleasant Grove

David Colston, D-Hayneville

Dickie Drake, R-Leeds

Chris England, D-Tuscaloosa

Joe Faust, R-Fairhope

Chad Fincher, R-Semmes

Craig Ford, D-Gadsden

Berry Forte, D-Eufaula

Victor Gaston, R-Mobile

Juandalynn Givan, D-Birmingham

Todd Greeson, R-Ider

Dexter Grimsley, D-Newville

Laura Hall, D-Huntsville

Micky Hammon, R-Decatur

Mike Hill, R-Columbiana

Alvin Holmes, D-Montgomery

Mike Holmes, R-Wetumpka

Ralph Howard, D-Greensboro

Joe Hubbard, D-Montgomery

Jamie Ison, R-Mobile

Thomas Jackson, D-Thomasville

Anthony Johnson, D-Birmingham

Alabama Senate

Senators declining the raise

Gerald Allen, R-Tuscaloosa

Scott Beason, R-Gardendale

Dick Brewbaker , R-Pike Road

Paul Bussman, R-Cullman

Gerald Dial, R-Lineville

Rusty Glover, R-Semmes

Bill Hightower, R-Mobile

Jimmy Holley, R-Elba

Bill Holtzclaw, R-Madison

Tammy Irons, D-Florence

Del Marsh, R-Anniston

Shad McGill, R-Scottsboro

Arthur Orr, R-Decatur

Greg Reed, R-Jasper

Paul Sanford, R-Huntsville

Clay Scofield,  R-Guntersville

Harri Anne Smith, I-Slocomb

Bryan Taylor, R-Prattville

Cam Ward, R-Alabaster

Tom Whatley, R-Auburn

Phil Williams, R-Rainbow City

Senators accepting the raise

Billy Bleasley, D-Clayton

Slade Blackwell, R-Mountain Brook

Linda Coleman, D-Birmingham

Priscilla Dunn, D-Bessemer

Vivian Davis Figures, D-Mobile

Trip Pittman, R-Montrose

Bobby Singleton, D-Greensboro

Rodger Smitherman, D-Birmingham

Jabo Waggoner, R-Vestavia Hills

Senators who did not return a letter and thus will get the raise

Roger Bedford, D-Russellville

Jerry Fielding, R-Sylacauga

Marc Keahey, D-Grove Hill

Quinton Ross, D-Montgomery

Hank Sanders, D-Selma

(asterisk)Source: Alabama Senate and Alabama House of Representatives/April 14, 2014

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s