Air Algerie plane disappears from radar

The logo of the Air Algerie company office, at the Opera avenue in Paris Thursday July 24, 2014. A flight operated by Air Algerie has disappeared from radar while traveling from Burkina Faso in West Africa to Algiers. Authorities say it was carrying over 100 passengers and crew when air navigation services lost track of the Swiftair plane 50 minutes after takeoff earlier this morning. (AP Photo/Remy de la Mauviniere)
The logo of the Air Algerie company office, at the Opera avenue in Paris Thursday July 24, 2014. A flight operated by Air Algerie has disappeared from radar while traveling from Burkina Faso in West Africa to Algiers. Authorities say it was carrying over 100 passengers and crew when air navigation services lost track of the Swiftair plane 50 minutes after takeoff earlier this morning. (AP Photo/Remy de la Mauviniere)

ALGIERS, Algeria (AP) – A flight operated by Air Algerie and carrying 116 people from Burkina Faso to Algeria’s capital disappeared from radar early Thursday, the plane’s owner said.

Air navigation services lost track of the Swiftair MD-83 about 50 minutes after takeoff from Ougadougou, the capital of Burkina Faso, at 0155 GMT (9:55 p.m. EDT Wednesday), the official Algerian news agency said. That means that Flight 5017 had been missing for hours before the news was made public.

The flight path of the plane from Ouagadougou, the capital of the west African nation of Burkina Faso, to Algiers wasn’t immediately clear. Ougadougou is in a nearly straight line south of Algiers, passing over Mali where unrest continues in the north.

Swiftair, a private Spanish airline, said the plane carrying 110 passengers and six crew left Burkina Faso for Algiers at 0117 GMT Thursday (9:17 p.m. EDT Wednesday), but had not arrived at the scheduled time of 0510 GMT (1:10 a.m. EDT Thursday).

Swiftair said it has not been possible to make contact with the plane.

The company said it was trying to ascertain what had happened to the plane.

It said the crew included two pilots and four cabin staff.

“In keeping with procedures, Air Algerie has launched its emergency plan,” the APS news agency quoted the airline as saying.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

blog comments powered by Disqus