Alabama’s Howard, Ridley named to Maxwell watch list

Alabama tight end O.J. Howard (88) breaks free from the tackle of Tennessee defensive back Todd Kelly Jr. (6) during the first quarter of an NCAA college football game, Saturday, Oct. 23, 2015, in Tuscaloosa, Ala. (AP Photo/Butch Dill)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WIAT) – The Maxwell Football Club announced the preseason watch list for the prestigious Maxwell Award today. The accolade has honored college football’s player of the year since 1937. Alabama placed two players on the preliminary list in tight end O.J. Howard and wide receiver Calvin Ridley. The Crimson Tide’s Derrick Henry took home the honor last year.

Howard was the star of the College Football Playoff National Championship Game with five catches for 208 yards and two touchdowns. On the season he had thirty-eight receptions for 602 yards. Ridley led the Tide in receiving as a true freshman, hauling in eighty-nine passes for 1,045 yards and seven touchdowns.

Semifinalists for the award will be named on October 31st, and three finalists will be announced on November 21st. Former winners from Alabama and Auburn include Henry (2015), quarterback A.J. McCarron (2013) and quarterback Cam Newton (2010).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s