O.J. Howard named to Mackey Award watch list

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WIAT) — Alabama’s O.J. Howard, the Offensive MVP of the College Football Playoff National Championship Game, was one of forty-five players named to the 2016 Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. The Mackey Award is annually given out to the best tight end in college football.

Howard, a senior on this year’s Crimson Tide team, was one of the stars of the National Championship Game in January, catching five passes for 208 yards and two touchdowns, helping Alabama beat Clemson, 45-40. Howard was named Offensive MVP of the game for his efforts, Howard had 33 catches for 394 yards last season before the game against Clemson.

Other notable players named to the watch list include Evan Engram from Ole Miss, Jake Butt from Michigan, and Ethan Wolf of Tennessee.

The Mackey Award will be handed out December 7th. Last year, the award went to Hunter Henry of Arkansas.

To see the full list, check out the Mackey Award website.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s