Drought emergency for 28 Alabama counties

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) — Twenty-eight Alabama counties have been placed under a drought emergency.

The Alabama Drought Declaration issued Tuesday comes after conditions across the state continue to degrade due to little rainfall and above normal temperatures.

The counties now under emergency status are:

Region 1: Colbert, DeKalb, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marshall and Morgan

Region 3: Blount, Cherokee, Cullman, Etowah, Jefferson, Shelby, St. Clair, Walker and Winston

Region 4: Calhoun, Chambers, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Coosa, Randolph, Talladega and Tallapoosa

Office of Water Resources’ Water Management Unit manager Tom Littlepage says falling reservoir and groundwater levels also have indicated drought conditions have become more severe, particularly in north, east and central Alabama.

Water managers are urged to monitor water sources and implement conservation measures as needed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s