Carr, Junior, McClinton on ballot for College Football Hall of Fame

Irving, Tex. (WIAT) — Former Auburn Linebacker Greg Carr, Defensive Back Buddy McClinton, and Alabama Defensive End E.J. Junior have taken their first steps towards the College Football Hall of Fame.

Junior, Carr, and McClinton are among the 75 names that will be featured on this years ballot.

Carr was a 1984 consensus First Team All-American and Three-time First Team All-SEC selection during his time with the Tigers.   He was named 1984 SEC Lineman of the Year and helped the Tigers win the 1983 SEC title and three consecutive bowl wins.

Junior was selected as a unanimous First Team All-American in 1980 and won two national championships with the Tide in 1978, 1979.  Junior was part of the famous goal-line stand defense vs. Penn State in 1979 Sugar Bowl.

McClinton was a three time All-American for the Tigers and is Auburn and the SEC’s all-time leader in interceptions with 18 and has the Auburn record for most interceptions in a single season with 9 in 1969.

Inductees will be announced Monday, January 8th 2018 at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Ga.

Other notable names on the ballot:

Eric Dickerson – Running Back, SMU

Ray Lewis – Linebacker, Miami Fla.

Calvin Johnson – Wide Receiver, Georgia Tech

Ed Reed – Defensive Back, Miami Fla.

Troy Polamalu – Defensive Back,  Southern California

Warren Sapp – Defensive Lineman, Miami Fla.

Patrick Willis – Linebacker, Mississippi

Charles Woodson – Defensive Back, Michigan

Frank Beamer – Coach, Murray State/Virginia Tech

Mack Brown – Coach, Tulane/North Carolina/Texas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s