2017 Heisman Trophy finalists announced

(WIAT) – It’s a three-man race for the 2017 Heisman Trophy. Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield, Stanford’s Bryce Love and Louisville’s Lamar Jackson were named finalists for College Football’s most prestigious award Monday.

Baker Mayfield is expected to run away with the award this season. The Sooner quarterback has thrown for more than 4,300 yards and 41 touchdowns.. He’s guided Oklahoma to the 2nd-seed in the College Football Playoff.

Mayfield, along with Lamar Jackson, are finalists for the 2nd straight year. Jackson won the Heisman last season and a win on Saturday would make him the first repeat Heisman winner since Archie Griffin.

The winner will be announced Saturday, December 9th on ESPN.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s