UAB football Coach Bill Clark named finalist for Coach of the Year Award

UAB head coach Bill Clark gives a thumbs up to fans after an NCAA college football against Troy in Birmingham, Ala., Saturday, Aug. 30, 2014. UAB won 48-10. (AP Photo/The (Troy) Messenger, Thomas Graning)

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. (WIAT) — UAB football coach Bill Clark has been named a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award by the Football Writers Association of America and the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Other finalists include Scott Frost (Central Florida), Lane Kiffin (Florida Atlantic,) Jeff Monken (Army), Lincoln Riley (Oklahoma), Kirby Smart (Georgia), Dabo Swinney (Clemson), and Jeff Tedford (Fresno State).

The Blazers will end their comeback season in the Bahama Bowl against Ohio on December 22nd.

“It’s an honor to be mentioned among other outstanding coaches as a finalist for the Eddie Robinson award and to be associated with a name that commands the utmost respect,” Clark said. “To consider where we were two years ago and to now receive national notoriety is a testament to all of our coaches, staff, administration, players, and fans who made the return a success.”

The winner of the award will be announced on December 14th. The official presentation will be on January 6th with the College Football Playoff National Championship.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s